News Category Subscribe to RSS Feed

OT alumni UF Homecoming 2019 photo

Occupational Therapy celebrates our outstanding and visiting alumni during the PHHP Alumni Reunion

Published: Oct 14th, 2019

The Department of Occupational Therapy (OT) recognized Dr. Consuela Kreider and Dr. Becky Piazza as the 2019 outstanding alumni.

Zheng Wang photo

Dr. Wang introduces exciting new Rehabilitation Science courses

Published: Aug 20th, 2019

Two new courses taught by Dr. Zheng Wang coming to the Rehabilitation Science program in 2020: RSD 6710: Motor Control Translating from Fundamental Research to Rehabilitation Practice, and RSD 6930: Matlab Foundations for Rehabilitation Science.

Drs. Chiung-ju “CJ” Liu, Jessica Kramer, John Kramer, and Heidi Horwitz photo

Department of Occupational Therapy welcomes four new faculty members

Published: Aug 6th, 2019

Drs. Chiung-ju “CJ” Liu, Jessica Kramer, John Kramer and Heidi Horwitz joined the faculty this summer.

Joanne Foss photo

Foss receives retired educator award

Published: Jul 30th, 2019

Joanne Foss, PhD, OTR, FAOTA, a professor emerita of the college’s department of occupational therapy, has received a Retired Educator’s Commendation from the American Occupational Therapy Association.

Dr. Sherrilene Classen

Autonomous cars: Science, technology, and policy

Published: Jul 26th, 2019

Dr. Sherrilene Classen was a panelist, along with other engineers, researchers, economists, and government officials, to provide a realistic outlook on the current state of driverless cars.

Amy Blue photo

Blue selected to serve on national occupational therapy certification board

Published: Jul 23rd, 2019

Amy Blue, Ph.D., the College of Public Health and Health Professions’ dean for educational affairs and UF Health’s associate vice president for interprofessional education, has been selected to serve on the board of directors of the National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy.

UFOT students presenting at AOTA 2019

UFOT Takes AOTA by Storm

Published: Jun 26th, 2019

The Department of Occupational Therapy had a strong presence at the annual American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA) Conference held in New Orleans.

Sharon Cermak photo

Sandra Edwards Colloquium 2020

Published: Jun 26th, 2019

Save the date for the 2020 Sandra Edwards Colloquium on Saturday, February 1, 2020. The keynote speaker will be Professor Sharon Cermak, Mrs. T.H. Chan Division of Occupational Science and Occupational Therapy at the University of Southern California.

Drs. Myers and Hanson honored for excellent contributions in editorial functions and/or teaching

Dr. Myers and Dr. Hanson honored for excellent contributions in editorial functions and/or teaching

Published: May 29th, 2019

Two UFOT faculty members, Dr. Christine Myers and Dr. Carolyn Hanson, were recently honored for excellent contributions in editorial functions and/or teaching.

Dr. Chris Hass, UF Associate Provost for Academic Affairs, and Dr. Sherrilene Classen photo

Classen Graduates as a 2019 Fellow of SECU-ALAP

Published: May 29th, 2019

Dr. Sherrilene Classen, who is a Provost-selected Fellow for the Southeastern Conference of Universities (SECU) Advanced Leadership Program for Academics and Professionals (ALAP), recently completed this one-year intensive leadership training.